College Preparatory School for Girls Grades 3-12

Four Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists, 20 Named Commended Students

Four Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists, 19 Named Commended Students

Four Holton seniors have been named 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists: Sukhmani KakarEster SchneiderovaBella Terhune, and Caitlin Wang. The four seniors qualified for the accolade by taking the 2020 PSAT. They were among 16,000 students selected as semifinalists, representing less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. 

These students now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered this spring. 

An additional 19 students were recognized as National Merit Commended Students: Maya AbiyMaggie Brett-MajorKate BroeksmitAlice CurrieCaroline DickeySophie DuncanNaomi FasilCate GoodinRin IimiGloria KalnitskayaAva KangMaggie KoonceLily MeierhoeferElla MyersDaniella NicholsLeyla RasheedTali SmithTomisin Sobande, and Iman Syed. These students placed among the top 50,000 who took the 2020 PSAT.

Ten seniors were also recognized as designated scholars by the College Board, which administers the PSAT. 

Emily BrainerdMaia Ferreyra, Sara War, Sasha Huberman, Sophia Castro, and Sophia Tuncer are College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Designated Scholars, and Hannah SharpMaia FerreyraMaya SolomonNaomi FasilTomisin Sobande, and Sophia Castro are College Board National African American Recognition Program Designated Scholars.

Congratulations, seniors!