College Preparatory School for Girls Grades 3-12

JV Field Hockey


JV Field Hockey is off to a great start! We enter the 2018 season with a great group of sixteen sophomores and freshmen. Our goalkeepers for the season are Phoebe Sisson '22 and Asma Poshni '21. Our sophomores, captains Joanna Dematatis ‘21, Maryam Garavi ‘21and Georgette Manos ‘21, alongside Asma Poshni ‘21 and Annika Chidambaran ‘21, will provide the team with leadership, dedication, and support. While our new additions, Alexandra Angelos ‘22, Abby Forrest ‘22, Serena Hong ‘22, Khushi Hota ‘22, Caroline Kitt ‘22, Joy Kramer ‘22, Lily Meierhoefer ‘22, Charlie Rhein ‘22, Phoebe Sisson ‘22, Katheryn Stearns ‘22 ,and Fiona Turnbull ‘22, will provide energy, enthusiasm, and eagerness. Coach Groseclose (Coach G) and Coach Lowenthal are excited to work with this strong, talented, and competitive group. Coach McEnroe and Coach Acerra will work with our goalies giving them a lot of one-on-one attention to expand their knowledge and skills. Our main goals for the season are to work on moving as a unit during game play, developing stick skills, and to score off of corner opportunities. We are looking forward to having a very successful season, full of learning, hard work and fun!


Team Opponent Date Time Advantage Result Score
JV Field Hockey
Stuart Country Day
JV Field Hockey vs.
Potomac School
JV Field Hockey vs.
Flint Hill School - US
Home Loss 0-1
JV Field Hockey vs.
Holy Cross School
JV Field Hockey vs.
Holy Child
Away Tie 1-1
JV Field Hockey vs.
Georgetown Visitation
Away Loss
JV Field Hockey vs.
Episcopal High School
Home Win 1-0
JV Field Hockey vs.
St. Stephen's/St. Agnes School
Home Loss 0-3
JV Field Hockey vs.
Stone Ridge School
Away Loss 0-1
JV Field Hockey vs.
National Cathedral School
Home Tie 0-0
JV Field Hockey vs.
Madeira School
JV Field Hockey vs.
Wilson High School
Home Win 1-0
JV Field Hockey vs.
Potomac School
Away Loss 0-3
JV Field Hockey vs.
Sidwell Friends School
JV Field Hockey
ISL - Playday @ Madeira



# Name Position Class
Alexandra Angelos 2022
Annika Chidambaran 2021
Joanna Dematatis 2021
Abby Forrest 2022
Maryam Garavi 2021
Serena Hong 2022
Khushi Hota 2022
Caroline Kitt 2022
Joy Alycia Kramer 2022
Georgette Manos 2021
Lily Meierhoefer 2022
Asma Poshni 2021
Charlie Rhein 2022
Phoebe Sisson 2022
Kathryn Stearns 2022
Fiona Turnbull 2022


Head Coach: Whitney Groseclose

Coach Groseclose was a four year letter winner and in both field hockey and lacrosse at Mercersbuerg Academy. She was also voted captain of both teams her junior and senior years. After graduation she played four years of Division III lacrosse at Goucher College. In addition to coaching lacrosse at Holton, Coach G has coached for Next Level Lacrosse Club, a US Lacrosse National Tournament Team, and was previously the Director of Future Elite Lacrosse.

Before coming to Holton, Coach Groseclose was a P.E. Teacher, coach and Assistant Athletic Director at the Powhatan School in Boyce, Va. She received her B.A. in Communications at Goucher College in Towson, Md., in 2007 and had the opportunity to study at the American University of Rome in the fall of 2006.

Assistant Coach: Rachel Lowenthal & Stephanie Acerra


Past Awards


2017 Team Awards

Most Valuable Player - Jenna Mohi-ud-din ‘20
Most Improved Player: Elise Strawbridge ‘21
Coaches Award: Renata Taylor-Smith ‘20


2016 Team Awards
Most Valuable Player - Eliza Gichner ‘20
Most Improved Player: Renata Taylor-Smith ‘20


2015 Team Awards
Most Valuable Player - Jillian Wiener ‘19
Most Improved Player - Mimi Asamoah-Mensah ‘19
Coaches Award - Lina Crowley ‘19


2014 Team Awards
Most Valuable Player - Lillian Baker ‘17
Most Improved Player - Ceci Gichner ‘18
Coaches Award - Victoria Powell ‘17