College Preparatory School for Girls Grades 3-12

Alumnae Awards

The Holton-Arms Alumnae Association celebrates recipients of The Distinguished Alumna and "The Rosie" Awards once a year during the Alumnae Association Celebration and Induction Brunch on the Saturday of Reunion Weekend.

The Distinguished Alumna Award

The Distinguished Alumna Award was established by the Board of Directors of the Alumnae Association in 1973 to recognize the career, professional, or volunteer service accomplishments of an outstanding alumna of the Holton-Arms School.

2020 - Marcia Johnson Bateson '75

Marcia Johnson Bateson ’75 was raised to be constructive, to do all that she could to make the world a little help families, schools, companies, her lift a little higher, to be more inclusive, to be a little kinder.

Mentored by Upper School Director Mary Jane Puckett and Head of School Jim Lewis, Marcia started this journey when she partnered with Gail Ehrlich ’75 to initiate the 1975 Potential of Women Day. Keynoted by First Lady Betty Ford, the program brought over 75 prominent women to Holton to speak with Upper School students about careers and workplace concerns. The potential that day was inspiring, the conversations motivating, and the challenges, identified yet imprecise, galvanizing.

More than 40 years later, Marcia and her husband, Doug, seeded the Women & Power for Good event series at Holton. The series launched with the March 2019 Women & Power Summit, through which Marcia worked with then-IMF Managing Director Christine Lallouette Lagarde ’74 and 35 other alumnae to engage Upper School students in the discussion about what happens when women exercise and extend our power—and harness it for good. While fitting to adapt from “potential” to “power,” there are so many more journeys to share, more toolkits to build, more fulcrums to lever.

Along the way, Marcia enjoyed a purposeful, satisfying career at JPMorgan. Having garnered a spot in the venerable training program, she was one of six women in a group of 50 professionals. Marcia worked hard, played by the rules, and had good mentors, eventually assuming numerous C-level positions in the firm’s banking, real estate, private equity, and investment businesses. She was never asked to get coffee, and yet, she was never asked to lead the decision discussion. Failures and coaching taught her to manage the agenda, and therefore the decision.

Marcia formed her own company to work with corporations large and small, real estate companies and projects, and nonprofit organizations. A hands-on builder, she coaches businesses to exercise transparency, align to common good, and show that the right “1+1” can indeed make 4. She pushes companies to serve their stakeholders, fortify our citizens, and sustain the global economy.

Marcia uses her voice to normalize constructive, inclusive, and equitable organizations. Whether it be Global Board Ready Women; working with Doug to coach their children toward purposeful, fortifying lives; or serving on the Boards of NR International and the Regional Plan Association, Marcia uses her power to expand and advance women’s seats at the nation’s make the world a little better.

A Phi Beta Kappa Vassar graduate, Marcia lives in New York with her husband and their labradoodle, Kai. Their two grown children also live in New York

"The Rosie" Award

Created by the Board of Directors of the Alumnae Association on September 17, 1990, The Rosemary Wire Anderson ("The Rosie") Award recognizes an alumna's extraordinary service to Holton-Arms. It was presented for the first time at Reunion Weekend in 1991 to Rosemary Wire Anderson '58. The award recognizes extraordinary service to Holton faculty, volunteers, employees, and members of the Board of Trustees as well as the Alumnae Board. The "Rosie" Award is a surprise to the recipient.

Athletic Hall of Fame

The next Athletic Hall of Fame class will be inducted on April 24, 2020 during Reunion Weekend!

Established in 2000-2001, the Holton-Arms Athletic Hall of Fame honors and perpetuates the memory of those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Holton-Arms athletics and have helped bring recognition, honor, and excellence to the School and its athletic program throughout its history.

In 2000-2001, the Centennial Year, the idea for an Athletic Hall of Fame arose to honor student athletes, individual teams, and outstanding coaches throughout the history of Holton-Arms School.

Members of the Athletic Hall of Fame should serve as a standard of excellence and inspire current students and teams to achieve their own level of excellence.


Nominations for the 2021 Alumnae Awards are due November 1, 2021


Questions? Contact:
Amanda Novak Hewitt '04
Director of Alumnae

Past Recipients: