Skip To Main Content

Header Holder

Header Right

Header Utility

Toggle Menu

Sticky header

Toggle Menu

Horizontal Nav


5 Upper School Students Named National Merit Semifinalists; 16 Commended Students

5 Upper School Students Named National Merit Semifinalists; 16 Commended Students

Five Holton seniors have been named 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists: Lila Brody, Claire Buchanan, Alicia Mazurkiewicz, Julia Ryan and Anneka Zimmermann. The five seniors qualified for the accolade by taking the 2022 PSAT. They were among 16,000 students selected as semifinalists, representing less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. 

These students now have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered this spring. 

An additional 16 students were recognized as National Merit Commended Students: Charlotte Adams, Alexis Crupi, Kendall Frederick, Adriana Gross, Sophia King, Elena Laguna, Karolina Lickunas, Anne Lippard, Britt NordquistLily Parsels, Shea Ridl, Scarlet Rogers, Piya Scielzo, Caroline Serenyi, Margaret Sussmann, and Jincheng Zhao. These students placed among the top 50,000 who took the 2022 PSAT.

Nine seniors were also recognized as designated scholars by the College Board, which administers the PSAT. 

Elena Laguna and Mia Rosenblum-Solis are College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Designated Scholars. Bilena Araya, Linda Robinson, Ella Moore, Sophia King, Callie Ervin, and Kamryn Hall are College Board National African American Recognition Program Designated Scholars; recipients include those who identify as Black, African-American, and Afro-Caribbean origin. Lily Parsels is a College Board National Indigenous People Recognition Program Designated Scholar. 

Congratulations, seniors! 

  • Campus News
  • Upper School

Recent News