• Explore
  • Apply
  • Programs
  • Campus Life
  • Support
  • Alumnae

Varsity Ice Hockey

 After a long four month winter season, the Holton Ice Hockey team wishes there was more time!  After all the hard work in practice and competition, the squad has another successful season under their belt.  They capped off the year with a MAGHL regular season title and Championship, Capitals Cup Girl’s Championship, and won their two WIHLMA Championship games to jump from 7th place to a 5th place finish in that highly competitive league.  The 2013-2014 award winners were announced at Holton’s winter season banquet on Tuesday, March 4.  The team had Co-MVP’s this year, senior Co-Captains Greer Korengold (1st team forward ALL-WIHLMA) and Blair Greenwald (2nd team defenseman ALL-WIHLMA).  Goalie Lana Levin was the first recipient of Holton Hockey’s 7th Player Award given out to the player her teammates felt went above and beyond and contributed to the success of the team, but may not have received the recognition she deserved.  The Coach’s Award was given out to Sophomore Olivia Thomas, an amazingly athletic rookie, not only to the squad, but to the game of hockey.  Catherine Meyer also received recognition this season with an honorable mention ALL-WIHLMA selection. Thanks to the determined and energetic group of girls for their efforts throughout the winter and to the parents who volunteered to bring food, to run the clock, to sit in the penalty boxes, and for the many hats that a hockey parent wears during the season.   Head Coach Kim Mathias and assistants Aaron Bill and Nick Galasso wish the seniors Greer Korengold, Blair Greenwald, and Assistant Captain Claire Huther the best of luck wherever they land next year and beyond!

 

The Holton-Arms School has been a pioneer in the development of girl’s ice hockey at the high school and middle school levels in the Washington D.C area.  With a rich tradition of combining local players with students trying the game for the first time, Holton-Arms continues to foster an environment for all students to reach their goals and aspirations in athletics.  The program begins in middle school with a development based schedule full of practices and a few local games.  The Varsity team plays a competitive schedule in two leagues, the Mid-Atlantic Girls Hockey League (MAGHL) in the D.C./Baltimore area and the Women’s Interscholastic Hockey League of the Mid-Atlantic (WIHLMA) playing a variety of school’s from Maryland, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. 

Signup for an alert reminder.
OVERVIEW | TEAM SCHEDULE | ROSTER | COACH INFO
Record: 13-8
2013-2014 Team Schedule
iCal Feed   RSS Feed
Fri, 11/22/13
6:20PM
  Away @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. Spalding School
Win 11-3
Mon, 12/02/13
4:15PM
  Home @ Cabin John Rink
vs. Holy Cross School
Win 8-0
Fri, 12/13/13
5:00PM
  Home @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. Shady Side Academy
Loss 1-9
Sat, 12/14/13
9:30AM
  Home @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. Pingry School
Loss 3-6
Sun, 12/15/13
11:10AM
  Home @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. Morristown Beard School
Loss 1-8
Tue, 12/17/13
5:10PM
  Away @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. Spalding School
Win 8-0
Wed, 12/18/13
4:15PM
  Home @ Cabin John Rink
vs. Bryn Mawr School
  more info
Wed, 01/08/14
5:30PM
  Away @ Patterson Park - Dominic 'Mimi' DiPietro Family Skating Center
vs. St. Timothy's School
Win 6-0
Fri, 01/10/14
7:30PM
  Away @ Shady Side Academy
vs. Shady Side Academy
TBA
Loss 3-4
Sat, 01/11/14
4:00PM
  Away @ Shady Side Academy
vs. Princeton High School
Win 10-4
Sun, 01/12/14
8:30AM
  Away @ Shady Side Academy
vs. Princeton Day School
Loss 3-6
Thu, 01/16/14
4:15PM
  Away @ Ice World
vs. Bryn Mawr School
Win 10-2
Fri, 01/17/14
6:20PM
  Home @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. St. Timothy's School
  more info
Fri, 01/24/14
6:00PM
  Away @ Pottstown, PA
vs. Hill School
TBA
Loss 6-9
Sat, 01/25/14
8:30PM
  Away @ Pottstown, PA
vs. Portledge
Loss 0-6
Sun, 01/26/14
11:30AM
  Away @ Pottstown, PA
vs. Hill School
Loss 3-5
Wed, 01/29/14
4:15PM
  Home @ Cabin John Rink
vs. Spalding School
Win 9-0
Thu, 01/30/14
4:15PM
  Home @ Cabin John Rink
vs. Spalding School
Win 9-4
Fri, 01/31/14
5:20PM
  Away @ Laurel Ice Rink
vs. Holy Cross School
Win 10-0
Mon, 02/03/14
4:15PM
  Home @ Cabin John Rink
vs. Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School
Win 7-3
Fri, 02/07/14
7:20PM
  Away @ Laurel Ice Rink
MAGHL Champs
Win 8-3
Sat, 02/15/14
TBD
  Away @ Pottstown, PA
WIHLMA Champs
Win 8-2
Sun, 02/16/14
TBD
  Away @ Pottstown, PA
WIHLMA Champs
Win 10-7

facebook twitter rss linkedin youtube smugmug   

Holton-Arms School | College Preparatory School for Girls Grades 3-12
7303 River Road, Bethesda, MD 20817     301-365-5300     CONTACT US | SITE MAP | EMPLOYMENT

Inveniam viam aut faciam • I will find a way or make one
powered by finalsite